Asking the Universe for Good Vibes (and also Chickpea Salad with Yogurt Dressing

chickpea-salad

Er-mer-gerd… I haven’t posted anything since November? Really? How on earth does time slip by so quickly?

I’ll tell you how.  It’s this fun trick that I’ve played on myself called, “Getting A Ph.D.” It makes time pretty much disappear.  For the past month, I have spent every waking  hour either 1) doing yoga or 2) studying for my candidacy exams (and by every waking hour I mean I also have hardly slept).  I have spent such little time in the kitchen doing the one thing that I really love, and I’ve eaten more take-out or snack meals than I probably have in my whole life.  Making this simple salad is one of the few times that I’ve been in the kitchen since December. And I’m dying to get back to making GOOD FOOD as soon as possible! However, the end is in sight!

While I did want to get this recipe into cyberspace, the main reason for posting today is a little bit selfish.  Next week, I will be taking the written part of my Ph.D. candidacy exams so I’m asking for all of you wonderful people in the cyber-universe to send as many thoughts and good-vibes my direction over the course of the next week.  I’m trying to stay positive – recognizing that this is supposed to be a stressful time, knowing that it’s supposed to be the hardest exam that I ever take, but that isn’t exactly comforting!

Thanks to everyone (especially my family) for supporting me through this whole crazy process, because I wouldn’t be here without so much love surrounding me!! I appreciate you all SO MUCH! Wish me luck!

Chickpea Salad with Yogurt Dressing

Ingredients
1 can chickpeas (or 1 cup cooked chickpeas!)
1 cucumber (chopped)
1 large heirloom tomato (chopped)
1 red onion (diced)
1/2 cup cooked quinoa
1/2 bunch parsley (finely chopped)
8 oz crumbled feta

1/4 cup lemon juice
1/2 cup yogurt
1 tbsp fresh dill
1 clove garlic (minced)
1/2 tsp cumin
salt and pepper (to taste)

Directions
1)  Combine chickpeas, cucumber, tomato, onion, parsley and quinoa in large bowl. Top with feta.
2)  Combine lemon juice, yogurt, dill, garlic, and cumin in small bowl.  Whisk to combine.

I like to stir the dressing into the salad and let it sit in the fridge for 15 minutes before serving, but some folks like to have their dressing on the side.  Serve it in whatever way makes you happy!

Leave a Reply

