Super Quick Yellow Curry

During the field season, I kind of dread the idea of cooking… I want to eat something delicious because I’ve been working really hard all day, but the time and effort it takes into pulling something together as I would at home, FORGET IT.  For someone who loves food as much as I do, it’s a daily struggle.

Yellow Curry

I’ve learned a few tricks over the years to making food that’s good, but not quite as good as if I made it 100% from scratch.  One of my go-to dinners is a curry with rice noodles that takes about 10 minutes to pull together and makes me feel 100% satisfied.  Here goes:

Ingredients
1 red bell pepper, chopped
1 head broccoli, cut into bite-sized pieces
1 block tofu, cut into bite-sized pieces
3 medium carrots, chopped
juice of 1/4 lime
1 can coconut milk
2 tbsp chunky peanut butter
1-2 tbsp curry powder (or paste!), to taste
2 dashes garlic powder
2 dashes ginger powder
1 package rice noodles

Directions
1) Typically, I have the vegetables already prepped and in the fridge to save some time later in the week when cooking.  I chop up some vegetables on Sunday, then use them throughout the week whenever needed.
2) Put coconut milk, peanut butter, lime juice, ginger, and garlic powder in a small pot over medium heat.  Stir to combine ingredients.  Add vegetables and tofu.  Cover and allow to simmer for 10 minutes.
3) While vegetables are cooking in the sauce, cook and drain the rice noodles.
4) Combine the curried vegetables and the rice noodles for the simplest dinner ever.

If you have some cilantro, garnish it with that.  If you have a can of chickpeas, add those!  You can add anything here and it would probably be delicious!

Leave a Reply

