The Last Supper: Falafel Night

falafel nightAs many of you know, field season is right around the corner and I’ll be heading to New Jersey for the upcoming months.  While I’m looking forward to the new adventure, it’s also incredibly heart-breaking to be leaving home and missing out on all of my favorite things.  Rest assured, there will be some special guests posting whilst I’m away, so stay tuned for the antics of summer!

For one of my last dinners at home, I wanted to indulge in one of my favorite foods: homemade falafel!

Ingredients
1/2 lb chickpeas (soaked overnight, cooked until soft, then mashed)
4-5 cloves garlic, minced
1 medium yellow onion, minced
1/2 bunch curly parsley, minced
1 tsp turmeric
1 tbsp cumin
1/2 tsp cayenne
1 tsp salt
1/3 cup flour
water or leftover bean cooking liquid

Directions
1) Mix all ingredient together (except water) in a large bowl.  Add 2-3 tbsps water or liquid at a time, mixing thoroughly until you have a batter that balls up but is not too wet.  Roll 2 inch balls of falafel then flatten into patties.  Set aside. (Hack: I use my KitchenAid Mixer here.  I add the cooked chickpeas and all the ingredients to the mixing bowl, then it “mashes” them for me and mixes everything perfectly.  After mixing, I add a little bean liquid at a time until the batter reaches the right consistency.)
2) Heat 3-4 tbsp vegetable oil in a shallow cast-iron or other shallow skillet.  Add falafel patties one by one, browning on each side.
3) Serve hot or cold or even room temperature!

We served this with a simple salad (cucumbers, red peppers, red onion, parsley, lemon juice, black pepper, olive oil, and feta cheese), homemade bread, and a yogurt sauce (homemade yogurt, cucumber, lemon juice, garlic, dill, and honey).  Dinner looked so delicious, that I forgot to take a picture of it before putting into leftover containers for lunch the next day!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

