Homemade Yogurt, Cheese, and Butter: Part II – Butter and Buttermilk

Leroy's Homemade Butter

Making butter is one of the easiest things I’ve ever done.  I got into making butter because we use ghee for cooking Indian food, and while you could make ghee from butter at the grocery store (or buy it), when I make my own butter, we get the bonus buttermilk and I make ghee later on.  I hear goat butter is pretty decadent, so I’m looking forward to experimenting with that soon!

Supplies
stand mixer

Ingredients
1 pint heavy cream
1/2 tsp salt

Directions
1) Pour cream into mixing bowl.  Whip on medium speed until fluffy.  Add 1/2 tsp salt.  Continue whipping until butter and “water” separate.
2) Spoon out butter and squeeze out remaining moisture.  Now you have butter!
3) Pour remaining liquid (buttermilk) back into pint container (or other storage container) for later.

If you prefer unsalted butter (like me), omit the salt.  Easy peasy!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Yogurt, Cheese, and Butter: Part II – Butter and Buttermilk

Leave a Reply

